Catherine Bruton

7 children’s books by the writer

Catherine Bruton was born in the North West, where she attended the local comprehensive before graduating with a first class degree in English Literature from Oxford. In her twenties, she worked in Namibia and South Africa, teaching in bush schools and working with street children in the townships. Catherine then went on to teach at some of the top schools in London and the UK, as well as writing feature articles for 'The Times' and various other national magazines and newspapers. Catherine's first novel for young people 'We Can be Heroes' was published in 2011. Described by The Sunday Times as, "Witty, wise and compelling," and named as one of their top books of 2011, it was short and long-listed for numerous awards, including the Carnegie, and is currently being adapted for the big screen. Her follow up 'Pop!' lead The Guardian to describe her as, "One of the finest teen writers of recent years," whilst her forthcoming book 'I Predict a Riot' which was inspired by the UK riots, 'vividly illustrates the tensions and violence of city life from the perspective of three very different young people trying to make sense of the world they live in,' (The Bookseller) Nowadays Catherine combines teaching English at a local secondary school with writing novels and raising a family. She lives with her husband and their two children in the countryside just outside Bath.

11+ years

I Predict a Riot

Catherine Bruton

I Predict a Riot

Explosive, emotional drama, perfect for fans of Meg Rosoff and Annabel Pitcher. Welcome to Coronation Road - a kaleidoscope of clashing cultures and parallel lives. There's Maggie and her politician mum in their big house. There's Tokes and his ...

£7.99

View book

12+ years

We Can be Heroes

Cate Shearwater

We Can be Heroes

Moving. Funny. Explosive. And most of all, unexpected ...As powerful as Frank Cottrell Boyce's Millions. My dad was killed in the 9/11 attacks in New York. But the stuff in this book isn't about that. It's ...

£6.99

View book

11+ years

Pop!

Cate Shearwater

Pop!

Billy Elliot meets the X-Factor meets Shameless. An emotional rollercoaster of a novel for readers aged 11 to 111. I reckon we need a plan that's so massive it'll change our lives forever ...The first round of auditions ...

£6.99

View book

9-12 years

Somersaults and Dreams: Rising Star

Cate Shearwater

Somersaults and Dreams: Rising Star

This book is suitable for fans of Cathy Cassidy and Jacqueline Wilson. Step in to the glamorous world of competitive gymnastics with Somersaults and Dreams. The British Champs are looming and Ellie is desperate to qualify. But with her two ...

£6.99

View book